TO:

Mayors of municipalities; County Judges of Counties located in whole or in part in the Region D regional water planning area; districts and authorities created under Texas Constitution, Article III, §52, or Article XVI, §59; retail public utilities; each holder of record of a permit, certified filing, or certificate of adjudication for the use of surface water, the diversion of which occurs in the Region D regional water planning area; all regional water planning groups; the Executive Administrator of the Texas Water Development Board; newspapers of general circulation; and to additional interested persons.

FROM: North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group (NETRWPG)

RE: Public Notice of the Initially Prepared Plan (IPP) of the Regional Water Plan of the

North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group and Public Hearing

DATE: April 30, 2020

PUBLIC NOTICE OF HEARING AND OPPORTUNITY TO PROVIDE COMMENTS

To All Interested Parties:

Notice is hereby given that the North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group (NETRWPG) is taking comment on the adopted Initially Prepared Plan (IPP). The comments will be used in developing an approved regional water plan by NETRWPG. The NETRWPG area, also known as Region D, includes the following counties: Bowie, Camp, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Gregg, Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Rains, Red River, Smith (partial), Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood. The NETRWPG will accept written comments from the date of this notice through September 9, 2020 for all state agencies. The deadline for comments from the public is August 11, 2020. The date of the public hearing is June 11, 2020, at 5:00 p.m.

The public hearing is designed to afford the public with an opportunity to provide verbal comments. The public also has the right to provide written comments and comments via the internet. This means there are three different ways to provide comments. All comments will be considered regardless of the method used to communicate them. The coronavirus pandemic has not materially reduced the public's opportunity to provide written or electronic comments but has disrupted the verbal method of providing comments. It thus may be necessary to use the telephone as an alternate to the in-person method to receive verbal comments due to further impacts of the coronavirus pandemic. The safest way to provide comments is to send them to regiond@netmwd.com. Due to recent developments associated with the COVID-19 pandemic and in extending the public comment period to accommodate this unique condition, the NETRWPG has changed the date and format of their public hearing as follows:

The date, time, and location of the public hearing is as follows:

Notice is given that a public hearing on the IPP will be at 5:00 p.m. on June 11, 2020, in the Mount Pleasant Civic Center, 1800 North Jefferson Avenue, Mount Pleasant, Titus County, Texas, if permissible. This public hearing will be held with social distancing and other reasonable

conditions in effect. The public hearing will be conducted using telephones only if the in-person public hearing scheduled in Mount Pleasant cannot be held. The telephonic method is in lieu of an in-person method if the coronavirus pandemic precludes holding a public hearing in person on that date. Regardless, the public hearing will be held on June 11, 2020, at 5:00 p.m. Preferably in person but telephonically as a last resort.

If necessitated due to the coronavirus pandemic, the public hearing will be conducted by telephone pursuant to the authority of Texas Government Code Section 551.125, and any applicable orders of the Texas Governor regarding public gatherings. Following a brief presentation, public comments may be delivered. The telephone numbers to use in the event of a telephonic public hearing are 1 (435) 777-2200 and 1 (800) 309-2350. Please reserve use of the toll-free 800 number to those that only have access to a land-based telephone line. The access code to be entered when prompted is 3250760#. Individuals desiring to make public comment must dial *5 on their phone when prompted, which will place them in queue. Only the speaker having the floor will be able to speak. All other commenters' phones will be muted. Each speaker must dial in on a separate phone. The proceedings via telephone will be recorded if it occurs. At the beginning of each public comment, the commenter must identify themselves by first and last name. Additional instructions during the public hearing will be provided in the event that the public hearing is held using the telephonic method.

The NETRWPG will accept comments at the public hearing even if held by telephone. Comments may be sent to regiond@netmwd.com or written comments may be sent directly to the NETRWPG by delivery to the NETMWD, PO Box 955, 4180 Highway 250, Hughes Springs, TX 75656.

A summary of the proposed action to be taken is as follows:

The proposed action is taking public comment on the adopted IPP and development of a regional water plan by the North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group (NETRWPG). A copy of the IPP is available for viewing on the Northeast Texas Municipal Water District (NETMWD) website (www.netmwd.com). A copy of the IPP is available for viewing at the office of the County Clerk in each county located within Region D and at most Public Libraries in Region D. For a further description of the libraries that have a copy of the IPP, please call 903-639-7538.

The name, telephone number, and address of the person to whom questions or requests for additional information may be submitted is as follows:

Walt Sears, telephone number (903) 639-7538, Northeast Texas Municipal Water District, PO Box 955, Hughes Springs, TX 75656. NETMWD is the Administrator for the NETRWPG.

How the public may submit comments is as follows:

The NETRWPG will accept written and oral comments at the public hearing. Written comments may be sent directly to the NETRWPG by delivery to the NETMWD, PO Box 955, 4180 Highway 250, Hughes Springs, TX 75656. E-mail comments may be sent to regiond@netmwd.com. The deadline for submission of written comments is September 9, 2020 for state agencies. Comments from the public will be accepted through August 11, 2020.